Foundational Community Supports (FCS) – Housing

The Foundational Community Supports (FCS) program offers vital new services to Medicaid beneficiaries, many of whom have critical needs. The program also provides exciting new opportunities for community partnerships. These new services include Community Support Services (CSS) that help people find and maintain community housing, and Individual Placement and Support (IPS), or supported employment, that helps people find jobs and stay employed.  

Supportive housing involves the following: 

1) Strong on-site and off-site case management from qualified staff, 

2) Assistance to people with disabilities so they can live stably in the community, 

3) Tenant education, including rights and responsibilities,

4) Budgeting guidance, 

5) Credit counseling and repair. 

Because FCS consists of Medicaid benefits, all FCS providers must be credentialed Medicaid providers. In addition, FCS providers must demonstrate the requisite expertise and capacity to deliver high quality supportive housing and/or supported employment services. For CSS (aka supportive housing), prospective providers must be able to demonstrate one or more of the following:

 1) Two years’ experience coordinating supportive housing and/or independent living services in a social service setting and 

2) Current supportive housing certification from the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS), Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery (DBHR).

If you need access to these supports or have any questions fill out the form HERE or click the link below.

Engage with Bridgeways